Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert coming to blu-ray

Eagle Vision will release the 1992 Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert on blu-ray on 2 September 2013.

Dubbed “SD Blu-ray”, this is part of a range that presents upscaled standard definition original material with uncompressed stereo and DTS-HD surround sound. It would be wise therefore not to have high expectations with regards to picture quality, even if the sound should be excellent.

This release will also contain bonus material which includes  rehearsal footage, a documentary and photo galleries.

You might also like...:

7 responses to Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert coming to blu-ray

  1. Luc Swaenen says:

    Any news if this is the FULL show, and not the butchered dvd release..

    • admin says:

      Eagle Vision state: “Now for the first time both halves of the concert are being made available” – not sure if that means the FULL show or not. Will try to find out!

  2. Johnny says:

    Doesn’t look like it’s the full show because according to the track listing posted on Amazon, Def Leppard playing “Animal” and “Let’s Get Rocked” along with Spinal Tap performing “The Majesty of Rock” are all missing.

    Filmed footage of U2 – “Until the End of the World” and Mango Groove – “Special Star” played into the stadium on the day, don’t seem to be included either.

    Robert Plant’s version of “Innuendo” is alo missing, but this was only ever included in the live broadcast and subsequently dropped from the VHS and DVD release as he was unhappy with his performance on the day.

  3. Luc Swaenen says:


    So far i’ll stick with the laserdisc

  4. I still have my VHS (!) from the original release for all the reasons stated above – the missing Def Lep, Metallica etc etc. However I was thrilled with the DVD version because of the addition of rehearsal footage (and the obvious “fan” moments held by the artists) … this will also mark the 3rd or 4th design change – none of the artwork has ever been consistent here. And, how about an audio release of this? I mean – really!

  5. Johnny says:

    All the Metallica footage appears to be included, Todd – Enter Sandman, Sad But True, Nothing Else Matters (in that order) and later Hetfield joining Queen to sing vocals on Stone Cold Crazy.

  6. Steve says:

    Was really happy to hear this concert was finally coming out on blu-ray, until i found out its still not the full version AND NOT in hd??? WTF! Why bother?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>